|Ogden Utah Non-Medical In-Home Care Agencies
(Personal Care Service Agencies)
The State of Utah establishes the rules and
regulations pertaining to in-home, non-medical
home care agencies within the state code
applying to private home health agencies.
(Utah Administrative Code: Rule 432-700) The
State of Utah uses the official term: "Personal
Care Service Agency" to describe what is
traditionally referred to as an in-home,
non-medical care service. Licensing and
licensure enforcement is overseen by the
State of Utah Department of Health.
Personal Care Service Agencies in the State of
Utah are chartered to provide personal care
services exclusively. Personal care services
involve home care aides
assisting clients with Activities of Daily Living (ADL). These ADL's include medication reminders;
light housekeeping; meal preparation and assistance with eating; assistance with dressing and
personal grooming; provision of transportation or running errands; arranging medical or dental
care appointments and providing transportation and escort to those appointments; and many
other assistance activities. An entire listing can be referred to on the State of Utah's Division of
Administrative Rules website.
Personal Care Services Agency Administrators
A Utah Personal Care Services Agency administrator is required to possess at least one year of
managerial or supervisory experience. The administrator must designate in writing a qualified
individual who is authorized to act in the administrator's behalf during abesences.
Personal Care Aides
Personal Care Aides in the State of Utah must meet the following qualifications:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Have comprehensive knowledge of their agency's policies and procedures
- Be trained in first aid
- Be oriented and trained in all aspects of care required by the client
- Be able to demonstrate competency in all areas of personal care
- Receive a minimum of 6 hours of in-service training per calendar year
- Submit to a health screening evaluation
- Submit to a criminal background check (Defined by Utah Code Title 26; Chapter 21;
Personal Care Aides are required to be supervised by a Certified Nursing Aide (CNA) with at
least two years of experience in personal or home care - or - a licensed health care
Personal Care Service Agencies must conduct an assessment with a potential client; the
assessment must be conducted by a licensed health care professional and a written statement
of personal care services (Plan of Care) must be given to the client after the assessment is
A Personal Care Services supervisor must evaluate and document the quality of personal care
services dispensed in the client's place of residence every six months.
For more information on the State of Utah's laws, regulations and licensing requirements for
Personal Care Service Agencies, visit their website at www.health.utah.gov.
|Featured In-Home Care Agencies
Serving the greater Ogden region since 2001, Comfort
Keepers of Ogden is a non-medical, in-home senior care
agency which currently enjoys a BBB "A+" rating. Comfort
Keepers of Ogden is part of the nationwide network of
Comfort Keeper care services and offers clients all of the ,
leading edge, best-in-class, interactive services they have developed and implemented over
Comfort Keepers' services include assistance with ADL's; conversation and companionship;
meal preparation; light housekeeping; respite care; mobility assistance; feeding and special
diet accommodation; and much, much more.
2780 Madison Avenue, Ogden, UT 84403 | (801) 629-4663
Right-at-Home of Davis and Weber Counties is a family-run,
in-home, non-medical senior care agency serving the area since
1995. Right-at-Home of Davis and Weber Counties has earned a
current BBB rating of "A-" and offers a wide range of services in the
categories of companionship/homemaking; physical assistance;
hygiene; wellness; and much, much more.
955 East Chambers Street, Suite 210, South Ogden, UT 84403 | (801) 479-7026